A Level Results

20 08 2009

It was 2 years ago that I was standing in that School Hall, waiting to get my results. Happy. Because I had checked on my UCAS track page if I was into university, and I had got in.

Now, I am going into my third year of a Broadcast Journalism Degree at Staffordshire University. I love it. Simply.

Today was the time for those born in 1990 and 1991 to celebrate finishing 13 years of schooling. And us on Tudno FM, that is exactly what we did. We went to the local school, the one I went to, and spoke to pupils and teachers – and got fantastic audio. (Yes, i’m speaking radio here).

And we had a full line up on the shows as well.

I spoke to four people on air – live on air that is. First of all, I spoke to Melissa Robinette about her results – fantastic results!

And then we found out a bit about the admissions and clearing process from Cerys Roberts of Bangor University. Those that got into Bangor are in the hallowed halls shared once by Richard Brumstrom and Danny Boyle, no less.

Next, another local part of the Llandudno area is Coleg Llandrillo! They have over 600 pupils studying over 50 subjects for A Level (not at the same time!) I’ve spoken about one of the subjects before, with Brian Woosnam of the college. We spoke about the Moon Landings before on Tudno, in a show that included Sir Patrick Moore.

And last, but by no means least (and by no means the last interview of the day! Dave Jones spoke to UCAS and The Police, as well as hearing interviews from the headmaster of Ysgol John Bright… But I digress).

Tom Griffiths from the website gapyear.com was on the show about 12:30. He is a recognised industry expert, and well published and interviewed. His website contains pretty much all the information you need for a gap year, and I spoke to him about that option.

I hope you will all join me in congratulating all these students on a fantastic day and a some fantastic achievements! Well done, and have fun in whatever you do next.

Big thanks to all the team at Tudno, we wouldn’t have managed half of this without all those that mucked in and made it sound so good on air!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

